How to
Editing activated flows

Shrawani Bhattarai
Shrawani Bhattarai
  • Updated

Navigate Flows page in Workflow Studio
Navigate the Flows details page
Understanding the Flow Lifecycle

This article covers three ways to edit an activeInsert Definition Here flowInsert Definition Here: direct editing with immediate activation, duplicating and transitioning via draining or terminating, and managing flows from the Flow detailsInsert Definition Here page.

Direct editing and immediate activation

This method ensures that modifications are applied swiftly.

  1. Navigate to the FlowsInsert Definition Here page and select the flow you wish to edit by clicking on the edit icon. This opens the Flow BuilderInsert Definition Here page where you can perform modifications.
  2. Edit, add, or remove nodes as needed. Any changes prompt the creation of a new flow version. The current live version of the flow will continue to generate experiences in the background while you edit.
  3. Implement your edits by clicking Activate new version. This updates the flow immediately, setting existing versions to DrainingInsert Definition Here status.

We currently do not support saving draft versions once the flow has been activated.

Duplicating and transitioning via draining or terminating

This approach allows for testing changes on a duplicate before affecting the active flow, providing a safety net for extensive modifications. If you want to stop the flow right away before making edits, you can set the flow to DrainInsert Definition Here or TerminateInsert Definition Here first, then duplicate when you are ready.

  1. For an active flow, Pendula users can click on the Duplicate on the Flow details page. This will create a draft, duplicate version of the flow.
  2. You now have the option to either Drain or Terminate the original flow:
    • Draining: Set the original flow to drain in the Flow details page before activating the new version, allowing ongoing experiences to conclude under the original configuration.
    • Terminated: End the original flow immediately by selecting Terminate in the Flow details page.
  3. Make the necessary modifications and activate the new flow.

Managing flows from the Flow details page

This method ensures operational clarity by creating a new flow and then systematically terminating the old one.

  1. Create a new flow by clicking the plus icon on Flows.
  2. Once your new flow is configured and ready, navigate back to the Flows. Locate the older version you're replacing, and open its Flow details by clicking on the view icon.
  3. On Flow details, click on More located at the top right corner. From the dropdown menu that appears, you can either choose to Drain or Terminate your flow.
    • Draining: Set the original flow to drain, allowing ongoing experiences to conclude under the original configuration.
    • Terminated: This immediately ends all experiences in the flow, wherever they are in the flow and allows the newly created flow to take full operational precedence.

What happens when someone is halfway through a previous flow version and a new flow version is activated?

By default, when a new flow version is activated, the previous flow version will go into a Draining state.

Consider this flow

active-flow-example.png

  1. A recipient triggers the flow by replying Gromit to the Pendula number. The Conversation node sends the recipient an SMS message expecting a reply.

    active-flow-message.png

  2. At this point, the Pendula user goes into the flow and edits the Outbound SMS (thereby creating Flow version 2) by changing the last Outbound SMS node, from the message Flow version 1 to Flow Version 2.

    active-flow-settings.png

  3. The recipient replies yes after Flow version 2 has been activated. The recipient receives Flow Version 1 as the SMS reply from the Conversation node.

    Recipients who were already engaged in the flow will continue with the first version. This ensures that all ongoing experiences are allowed to continue under the initial flow configurations. This is known as the Draining state - where the original flow version gradually phases out.

    See Manage individual flows in various states to learn more about Draining state.

    Once the second version of the flow is activated, all new recipients that enter the flow will receive new messages. Users have the option to manually terminate older versions of the flow from Flow details; doing so will immediately discontinue experiences of all active recipients from the flow version 1.

    active-flow-message-version-2.png